The Pennsylvania School Code was amended in 1988 to include homeschooling as an option to compulsory school attendance. Parents are required to file a notarized affidavit with the local superintendent of schools before they begin a home school program and annually thereafter on August 1st. The “supervisor” of a home school must hold a high school diploma or its equivalent and will be held responsible for providing instruction. The “supervisor” must also maintain records to be submitted on an annual basis that show time spent in the classroom; a list of all materials and assignments used; standardized testing results for grades 3, 5 and 8; and educational progress evaluations for each student. Pennsylvania Code requires that home school instruction be provided for 180 days at the elementary level and 180 days or 990 hours at the secondary level.
Visit Homeschool Facts for more information about Pennsylvania Homeschool State Laws.