In 2010, Georgia recognized “home study programs” as “educational entities.” In Georgia, home school parents are allowed to teach only their own children and the parent who is teaching on a daily basis must hold at least a high school diploma or a GED. Parents can hire a tutor, but the tutor must also hold a high school diploma or GED. Home school parents are required to file a “Declaration of Intent” (DOI) to start what the State of George refers to as a “home study program.” The DOI must be filed “within 30 days after the establishment of a home study program and by September 1 annually thereafter” (2010 Official Code of Georgia, Title 20/Education). Georgia’s home study programs must be open and teaching at least 180 days a year and each school day must be at least four-and-a-half hours long.
Visit Homeschool Facts for more information about Georgia Homeschool State Laws.